Absa Cape Epic 2019 - Stage 2 - Untamed Action

Absa Cape Epic 2019 - Stage 2 - Untamed Action

Vidéo de vtt
Publiée le le 20 mars 2019

33 vues

Oak Valley Estate in Elgin is an icon of the Absa Cape Epic and today’s racing will once again be immortalised in the annals of the race’s history as Nino Schurter and Lars Forster completed a hat trick of stage wins. While this is not the first time this feat has been accomplished, it is a first for the decorated Schurter. The Scott-SRAM MTB-Racing team won in a time of 3:37.41 to extend their overall lead over Cannondale Factory Racing to more than four minutes. “I thought I could do well, but not this well,” Lars Forster commented at the finish. “This is amazing.” The 25-year-old was visibly ecstatic with his debut Absa Cape Epic performance to date. “He will just get better,” his senior partner Schurter quipped. “This (stage win) was not planned, but we are very happy with the hat trick.” The Investec-songo-Specialized duo of Annika Langvad and Anna van der Breggen extended their lead during Stage 2 of the Absa Cape Epic despite changing their strategy mid-race on Tuesday. The MTB and road world champion pairing made the decisive move about three-quarters of the way through the 90km stage from Hermanus to Oak Valley Estate in Elgin; but their plan before the start was to not attack their nearest rivals, the Kross-Spur Racing duo of Ariane Lüthi and Maja Wloszczowska. At the end of the stage Langvad and Van der Breggen had opened up a two minute gap which leaves them with a healthy cushion of close to eight minutes going into the 107km Stage 3. Wednesday’s stage is a tough out-and-back loop from Oak Valley that takes in the famed Groenlandberg climb and its treacherous descent.

2019 Stage 2 Results

1. Scott-SRAM MTB-Racing 4-1 Nino Schurter (SUI) 4-2 Lars Forster (SUI) 03:37.41,3
2. KROSS-SPUR 14-1 Sergio Mantecon Gutierrez (ESP) 14-2 Ondřej Cink (CZE) 03:38.11,0 +29,7
3. Cannondale Factory Racing 3-1 Manuel Fumic (GER) 3-2 Henrique Avancini (BRA) 03:38.12,3 +31,0

1. Investec-songo-Specialized 50-1 Annika Langvad (DEN) 50-2 Anna van der Breggen (NED) 04:18.01,2
2. Kross-Spur Racing 53-1 Ariane Lüthi (SUI) 53-2 Maja Wloszczowska (POL) 04:20.09,2 +2.08,0
3. Summit Fin 54-1 Candice Lill (RSA) 54-2 Adelheid Morath (GER) 04:27.55,6 +9.54,4

Vidéos associées