Home duo dominates opening day | Swiss Epic 2019: Stage 1

Home duo dominates opening day | Swiss Epic 2019: Stage 1

Vidéo de vtt
Publiée le le 21 août 2019

29 vues

Home win for the Swiss duo Corina Gantenbein (SUI) & Kathrin Stirnemann (SUI) at the Swiss Epic opening day!
In a time of 4:59:23,1 they take the win ahead of Ariane Lüthi (SUI) & Samara Sheppard (NZL) on rank 2. The women’s podium is completed by Alice Pirard (BEL) & Stefanie Dohrn (GER) who came in 3rd.
In the men’s competition the Italian teams showed a strong performance: The victory of Stage 1 went to the Italian teammates Michele Casagrande (ITA) & Fabian Rabensteiner (ITA) with a time of 3:52:20.6 just slightly ahead of their compatriots Samuele Porro (ITA) & Damiano Ferraro (ITA) (+0.3 ). On place 3 the best Swiss team Casey South (SUI) & Noah Blochlinger (SUI).
Stage one today started in Davos Klosters featuring the legendary Davos Alps Epic Trail, the longest single trail in Switzerland, and Zügen Gorge and ended – after 86km in distance and 2.800m of climbing – in St. Moritz.
And 4 more stages are still ahead of the riders. The upcoming stage two takes riders around St. Moritz incorporating breathtaking panoramic views of Piz Palü, Piz Bernina and the Engadine. Riders will reach the Laj Alv natural reservoir before enjoying the flowing descent on the historic St. Moritz’s Ski World Cup racetrack.
The dramatic trails of the Swiss Alps form the backdrop of the 2019 edition of the Swiss Epic mountain bike race from 20 – 24 August. The race takes place in the picturesque Graubünden region with riders experiencing the best of Davos, St. Moritz and Lenzerheide over five days of intense riding. This year’s edition features 300 teams from around the world with representation from every continent among the close to 600 participants who will traverse 347km of climbs and descents, including almost 12 000 metres of climbing, through Switzerland’s Graubünden region.

Results Stage 1 from Davos Klosters to St Moritz

1. Michele Casagrande (ITA) & Fabian Rabensteiner (ITA) // Team Trek Selle San Marco A // 3:52:20.6
2. Samuele Porro (ITA) & Damiano Ferraro (ITA) // Team Trek Selle San Marco // +0.3
3. Casey South (SUI) & Noah Blochlinger (SUI) // Team jb BRUNEX / Fischer BMC // +6.01,1

1. Corina Gantenbein (SUI) & Kathrin Stirnemann (SUI) // Team Shimano S-Phyre // 4:59:23,1
2. Ariane Lüthi (SUI) & Samara Sheppard (NZL) // Team Wielka Orkiestra Świątecznej Pomocy // +37,3
3. Alice Pirard (BEL) & Stefanie Dohrn (GER) // Team Centurion Vaude 2 // +38,3

Vidéos associées