World Enduro Super Series 2018 - Red Bull 111 Megawatt (POL) - Day 1

World Enduro Super Series 2018 - Red Bull 111 Megawatt (POL) - Day 1

Vidéo d'autres
Publiée le le 19 octobre 2018

73 vues

Full of dramatic plot twists, keeping everyone on their toes down to the wire – that’s how we can sum up Sunday’s Red Bull 111 Megawatt final. It’s the biggest enduro event in East-Central Europe and on September 9, 2018, South Africa’s Wade Young went down in its history, as he was the first one to cross the finish line. Taddy Blazusiak, returned to the podium after a two-year-long break and this time around he was second. The top three was completed by Billy Bolt. Red Bull 111 Megawatt is a two-day enduro event held within the area of the Belchatow Brown Coal Mine. This intriguing location attracts both motorsport fans and people looking for a thrilling spectacle. Taking place in an out-of-this-world landscape, that’s exactly what the event provides. Day one featured qualification set to determine the fastest 500 riders out of almost 1,000 competitors. The top three included Nathan Watson and Josep Garcia – both making their debut at the Polish event – as well as three-time Red Bull 111 Megawatt winner, Jonny Walker. Sunday, September 9, marked the grand final that kicked off at exactly 1:11 pm. The mass start of 500 riders constitutes one of the most spectacular moments of the race. First, the competitors had to complete a fast motocross track, leaving massive dust clouds in the air behind them. Then, they had to conquer a technical section full of obstacles – such as rocks, wooden beams and tires. However, the place that truly turned the standings upside down was the vast excavation pit. There the riders had to face the toughest hill climbs that posed a great challenge even to the world’s top enduro racers. The 35,000-strong crowd was definitely most excited about the performance of Taddy Blazusiak, whose legendary starting number #111 is included in the name of the event.

1. Wade Young (Sherco - RSA) 2:10:52.04;
2. Taddy Blazusiak (KTM - POL) 2:13:01.82;
3. Billy Bolt (Husqvarna - GB) 2:13:08.63;
4. Manuel Lettenbichler (KTM - GER) 2:14:15.07;
5. Nathan Watson (KTM - GB) 2:15:34.21;

Vidéos associées