LAAX OPEN 2020 - Best of Slopestyle

LAAX OPEN 2020 - Best of Slopestyle

Vidéo d'autres
Publiée le le 21 janvier 2020

59 vues

The weather played along another day putting smiles on all faces while witnessing today’s Snowboard action in the innovative course for the highly anticipated Slopestyle finals in LAAX. Julia Marino (USA) & Sebastien Toutant (CAN) are the proud first LAAX OPEN winners of the new decade walking home with a prize purse of CHF 25.000 each. In the women’s field Julia Marino from the US set the bar high with an incredible first run including a Backside 900 Melon, a Cab Double Underflip Mute and a Frontside 720 Mute on the kicker line which earned her 81,30 points. None of the other finalists was able to get close to her score. It’s Julia’s first LAAX OPEN win “It was the best week of my life. The weather was perfect, the course just awesome and the level of riding was great.” Reira Iwabuchi from Japan and Katie Ormerod from the UK complete the podium on 2nd and 3rd. Noteworthy is young German rider Annika Morgan who narrowly missed out on a podium spot ending up 4th. In the men’s comp young Red Gerard (USA), Slopestyle Olympic Champion 2018, was in the lead for a very long time. But then came Seb Toutant (CAN), Big Air Olympic Champion 2018. Seb, in the game since many years and already winner of the Burton European Open Junior Jam in 2008 in LAAX, threw down an incredible 2nd run with an outstanding Backside 1440 Mute on the last jump and a Frontside 1080 Mute on the least feature which earned him the highest score of the day kicking off Staale Sandbech from the podium and pushing Gerard and Justus Henkes into 2nd and 3rd position. Seb stated: “I have been coming here for so many years and I’m really proud I finally made it to the top. It is my first contest in 2020 and it is just amazing to win here in LAAX.”


1. Julia Marino, USA, 81,30
2. Reira Iwabuchi, JPN, 76,95
3. Katie Ormerod, GBR, 64,20
4. Annika Morgan, GER, 58,43
5. Hailey Langland, USA, 45,85

1. Sebastien Toutant, CAN, 87,25
2. Red Gerard, USA, 85,45
3. Justus Henkes, USA, 82,33
4. Staale Sandbech, NOR, 81,53
5. Sven Thorgren, SWE, 81,46

Vidéos associées